Last updated: Friday, November 8 at 4:23 PM

YAKIMA COUNTY — The Yakima Council Election office will continue to be a hub of activity through the week, based on last minute ballot returns.

The county received 22.83% or 6,759 ballots by Monday, Nov. 4, but that number has almost doubled since.

In Sunnyside, Craig Hicks City Councilman, Position 7, responding to a query on priorities for the upcoming tenure, if the trend continues to point to his reelection, discussed priorities, “If or when I'm re-elected I will continue to keep working on the budget, work on trying to get more new business into town. We need to take a firm look at housing as it is very limited. I will do my best to follow what the town has asked of its elected officials.”

Mike Farmer, who is leading the Sunnyside City Council Position 5 race, declined to make a formal response until the election is certified Dec. 5.

Election counts are updated online each day at 3:30 p.m. by following this address:

Ballot update for Thursday, Nov. 8, which is the last update before paper deadline, due to Veterans’ Day holiday, is as follows:

Total number of registered voters: 119,173

Total number of ballots counted: 30,993

Total number of estimated ballots remaining to be counted: 9,000

Legislative District 13, Representative, Position 2

Alex Ybarra 644 81.01%

Steve Verhey 151 18.99%

Grandview Mayor

Gloria Mendoza 399 95%

Write-Ins: 21 5%

Grandview Council Position 3

Diana R. Jennings 416 97.88%

Write-Ins: 9 2.12%

Grandview City Council Posi-tion 4

Gaylord Brewer 305 60.88%

Joseph Jensen 194 38.72%

Write-Ins: 2 0.4

Grandview Council Position 5

Bill Moore 437 99.54%

Write-Ins: 2 0.58%

Grandview Council Position 6

David Diaz 424 98.52%

Write-Ins: 8 1.85%

Grandview Council Position 7

Mike Everett 392 98.15%

Write-Ins: 14 3.45%

Mayor of Granger

Jose Trevino 106 54.36%

Julie Sharp 87 44.62%

Write-Ins: 2 1.03%

Granger City Council Position 4

Juan G. Isiordia 155 96.88%

Write-Ins 5 3.12%

Granger City Council Position 5

Hilda Guzman 105 53.03%

Israel Bustamante Luevano 93 46.97%

Mabton City Council Position 3

Mark Gourneau 61 78.21

Write-Ins: 17 21.79

Mabton City Council Position 4

Vera Zavala 70 86.42

Write-Ins: 11 13.58%

Mabton City Council Position 5

Arturo De La Fuente 76 90.48%

Write-Ins: 8 9.52%

Sunnyside City Council Position 6

James Restucci 687 95.28%

Write-Ins: 34 4.72%

Sunnyside City Council Position 5

Mike Farmer 458 50.5%

Julia Hart 447 49.28%

Write-Ins: 2 0.22%

Sunnyside City Council Position 7

Betty Lynn Garza 386 43.57%

Craig Hicks 496 55.98%

Write-Ins 4 0.45%

Deb Brumley can be contacted at 509-837-4500, ext. 114 or email

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.